Close Menu

3560 McCarty Rd. Saginaw, MI 48603 | 989.790.1676

Endowed/Planned Giving

The Valley Lutheran Foundation, established in 1998, supports the long-term mission of Valley Lutheran High School by managing the investment and distribution of the school’s endowment funds.

The Foundation’s board of directors oversees the annual distribution of funds to ensure they meet the donor’s wishes and the school’s needs. The annual distribution is 4% of the fund’s value. The Foundation supports the student aid fund, the performing arts and athletic programs, as well as other operational needs.

Gifting Opportunities

Gifts to the Valley Lutheran Foundation endowment funds may be made with cash, stock transfers and future gifts through estate planning.

Gifts may be designated for Capital Projects, Student Aid, Faculty Development, Fine Arts, Athletics, and Academic Programs. They may be designated for one of the “named” funds described below. Undesignated gifts will be used as determined by the foundation board of directors in consultation with the school board of directors. Contact Interim Executive Director, Kyle DeWees, at (989) 790-1676 for information about making a gift and/or establishing a named fund.

Donors making current or future planned gifts to the Foundation are recognized through membership in the Legacy Circle.

The Legacy Circle

“Educating for Now and Eternity” . . . Valley Lutheran High School makes a difference in the lives of people. Students learning at a school with “Christ as its Foundation” hear the message of God’s saving grace through Jesus while preparing for success in an uncertain world. Membership in the Legacy Circle strengthens the school for today’s students and continues the ministry for tomorrow’s.

Legacy Circle Frequently Asked Questions

Designated Named Funds

Valley Lutheran Tuition Assistance

  • The John and Sue Brandt Scholarship Fund
  • The Wallace and Irene Bronner Scholarship Fund
  • The Zelma Brunner Scholarship Fund
  • The David and Bonnie Duclos Scholarship Fund
  • The Michael Felten Angel Scholarship Fund
  • The Dorothea Fielder Scholarship Fund
  • The Wilmar Keinath Scholarship Fund
  • The David L. Krause Scholarship Fund
  • The Ruth and Fred Miller Scholarship Fund
  • The Edwin and Marie Nuechterlein Scholarship Fund
  • The Alma Reichard Scholarship Fund
  • The Grace Schroeder Scholarship Fund
  • The Matthew Schwarz-Smith Scholarship Fund
  • The Rick and Kay Waters Scholarship Fund
  • The Marge Haubenstricker Scholarship Fund
  • The Harold C. Wakeman Scholarship Fund
  • The Scott and Brenda Wilson Scholarship Fund

College Scholarship

  • The Jerry Boehm Scholarship Fund
  • The Patricia Rennert Scholarship Fund
  • The Brent R. Smith Scholarship Fund
  • The Harold C. and Judy Wakeman Scholarship Fund
  • The James and Mollie Wheatley Scholarship Fund

School Programs

  • The Diane Olson Endowment for the Performing Arts
  • The Teacher Appreciation Fund
  • The Sola Deo Gloria Endowment for the Performing Arts
  • The Connor LeRoy Athletic Endowment
  • The Excellence Through Innovation Endowment

Foundation Board of Directors

  • Rodney Wakeman, President
  • Jim Milroy, Treasurer
  • Rich Marker, Secretary

Foundation Members

  • Eric Bushey
  • David Duclos
  • Ken Gremel
  • Al Kaul
  • Sue Kuck
  • Carol Laux
  • Kyle DeWees, Ex-Officio

For more information contact:

Interim Executive Director Kyle DeWees
Valley Lutheran High School
3560 McCarty, Saginaw, MI, 48603
(989) 790-1676

The Saginaw Valley Lutheran High School Association, operating Valley Lutheran High School, admits students of any race, color, national and ethnic origin, and physical handicap to all the rights, privileges, programs, and activities generally accorded or made available to students at the school. It does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, sex, national and ethnic origin, genetic information, and physical handicap in administration of its educational policies, admission policies, scholarship and loan programs, and athletic or other school administered programs.