Monday, 19 June 2017 12:09

Class of 2017 Earns Numerous Accolades

Left to right: Grace Hearth, Sarah Kempin and Kathryn Davis met the critera for earning Honors Diplomas from Valley Lutheran High School. Left to right: Grace Hearth, Sarah Kempin and Kathryn Davis met the critera for earning Honors Diplomas from Valley Lutheran High School.
Valley Lutheran graduates celebrated with family and friends after receiving their diplomas during commencement on Sunday, June 11.

Sarah Giglio and Elizabeth Holcomb were named Co-Valedectorians, based on grade point average. Sarah Kempin was the class Salutatorian.

Of the 68 graduates, 19 earned recognition as Summa Cum Laude (3.75-4.00 gpa), 13 were Magna Cum Laude (3.50-3.74), and nine were Cum Laude (3.25-3.49).

This year, three students earned the newly designated Honors Diploma, which encouraged them to challenge themselves in a number of ways. They are Kathryn Davis, Grace Hearth, and Sarah Kempin.

“In conversations with the faculty, Dr. Brandt, and the Educational Excellence Committee, we were looking for opportunities for students to really push themselves,” said Dr. Lisa Meyers, Academic Dean. “In this program, they have an increased level of course work with an emphasis area, and they gain outside experience with an internship and long-term community involvement. This helps make a student even more prepared.”

val sal

Honors and Awards

Co-Valedictorians: Sarah Giglio & Elise Holcomb

Salutatorian: Sarah Kempin

Honors Diplomas - Kathryn Davis, Grace Hearth, Sarah Kempin

VL Faculty Academic Awards

Art: Taylor Doehring
Computers: Evan Walk
English: Taylor Doehring
French: Maylynne Wager
Math: Taylor Brechtelsbauer & Connor Schrems
Music: Sarah Kempin & Daniel Plamondon
Physical Education: Tyler Urban
Religion: Marisa Martlock
Science: Sarah Kempin & Jacob Palmreuter
Social Studies: Jacob Palmreuter & Daniel Plamondon
Spanish: Elyse Greenwood

Tri-Valley All-Academic Team: Taylor Brechtelsbauer, Elise Holcomb, Sarah Kempin

National Merit Scholarship Program Commended Students: Taylor Brechtelsbauer and Elise Holcomb

President’s Award for Educational Excellence (32 students) 3.5 GPA & above: Sarah Giglio,
Connor Schrems, Daniel Plamondon, Zachary Peil, Elise Holcomb, Megan Kelly, Kathryn Davis, Eric Gaudreau, Sarah Kempin, Elyse Greenwood, Jacob Hilbrandt, Ian Sheinart, Arianah Rankin, Taylor BrechtelsBauer, Sarah Stoelting, Sean Irish, Jacob Palmreuter, Abigail Rajewski, Sarah Rezler, Sarah Bergelin, Marisa Martlock, Kaitlyn Malo, Jinyi Lan, Maxwell Wood, Taylor Doehring, Megan Schofield, Benjamin White,  Amandeep Kaur, Grace Hearth, Adrian
Hildebrant, Blair Lubben,
Zachery Smith

President’s Award for Educational Achievement: Alexander Rutledge, Allison Stelter, and Tyler Urban

Guest Presentations

Saginaw Optimist Club - Elise Holcomb ($2500 award)
United Producers - Calvin Keinath ($1000 scholarship)
VL Foundation Scholarship - Zachery Smith ($1000 scholarship)
Jerry Boehm Scholarship - Ana Johnson ($1000 scholarship)

Activities Awards

Senior Class Officers - Sarah Giglio (P), Ana Johnson (VP), Arianah Rankin (S), & Kathryn Davis (T)

Music: Grace Hearth & Zachery Smith
Student Council: Elise Holcomb (P), Grace Hearth (VP), Elyse Greenwood (S), Daniel Plamondon (T), & Jacob Palmreuter (H)
Drama: Elise Holcomb & Ana Johnson
Yearbook: Taylor Doehring & Megan Schofield
Tom Roekle Scholar Athlete Award: Grace Hearth and Connor Schrems
Steve Zill Christian Award: Zachery Smith and Allison Stelter
Key Club International: Kathryn Davis, Sarah Kempin, Megan Kelly, Jacob Palmreuter, & Megan Schofield
MHSAA Scholar-Athletes: Adrian Hildebrant
Bay City Optimist Club: Adrian Hildebrant
Beaver Township Auxiliary Scholarship: Zachary Peil
Business Professionals of America State Competition: Caleb Kish
Korean War Veterans Scholarship: Megan Schofield
National Society of the Daughters of the American Revolution: Elise Holcomb
Saginaw Career Complex Senior Project Presentation: Caleb Kish
Saginaw Rotary Club: Sarah Kempin
Optimist Club of Saginaw Youth Appreciation Day: Ana Johnson and Jacob Palmreuter
Prudential Spirit of Community Award: Sarah Kempin and Jacob Palmreuter
The Society of Women Engineers Certificate of Merit: Kathryn Davis
Steel Dynamics, Inc. Scholarship Award: Marisa Martlock
Veterans of Foreign Wars Certificate Award: Megan Schofield
Wendy’s High School Heisman Award School Winner: Sarah Giglio
State of Michigan Representative Tim Kelly - Certificate of Commendation: All students in the Class of 2017

Scholarships, grants, or awards from universities or private organizations: Justin Allen, Markos Azucar, Sarah Bergelin, Taylor Brechtelsbauer, Samantha Buckler, Taylor Doehring, Eric Gaudreau, Sarah Giglio, Elyse Greenwood, Grace Hearth, Jacob Hilbrandt, Adrian Hildebrandt, Elizabeth Holcomb, Sean Irish, Megan Kelly, Caleb Kish, Kaitlyn Malo, Marisa Martlock, Jacob Palmreuter, Zachary Peil, Daniel Plamondon, Kenzie Pomaville, Abigail Rajewski, Arianah Rankin, Sarah Rezler, Megan Schofield, Connor Schrems, Ian Sheinart, Zachery Smith, Sarah Stoelting, Maylynne Wager, Evan Walk, Benjamin White, Maxwell Wood

The Class of 2017 has been awarded and accepted
$1,059,636.80 in scholarships and grants. Congratulations!

Read 658 times

Connect with us

Mailing Address: 
Valley Lutheran High School
3560 McCarty Road
Saginaw, MI 48603




You are here: Home News Class of 2017 Earns Numerous Accolades