On Sunday, June 14 Valley Lutheran celebrated its 41st commencement ceremony, in a ceremony unlike any other in the school’s history! A graduation stage set up in the parking lot, students seated 6 feet apart, and families listening via radio watching from their vehicles marked this special day in this unique pandemic year.

A full live stream of the event is available at A number of highlights include:

  • Salutatorian address by Kelsey Vittitow – A message full of thanksgiving – for the opportunity to join together as a class this final time when in March that seemed so unlikely, for the dedication and commitment of the teachers to continue to provide quality instruction through these months, and for the support and care of family and friends throughout their high school years and especially this last challenging time.
  • Presentation of various Senior academic and extra-curricular awards listed in detail below.
  • Commencement Address by Mr. Barry Wittig – paralleling the worldly struggles of 2020 with those of 1968 (there are many – take a listen!) but also challenging the graduates to always remember, “When the world is a total mess, God is not. He is the same yesterday, today, and forever. He is your anchor, hold on to him, keep him the foundation of your life.”
  • Valedictorians addresses by Abby Brown, Cora Hensler, and Lilly Holman – sharing how their experience in sports, clubs, and academics connected them with the full Valley Lutheran experience and instilled in them a true sense of belonging, service to others, and a love for learning.
  • Presentation of diplomas to the newest 69 graduates of Valley Lutheran High School! (This now takes our VL alumni count to over 3500!)
  • Announcement of the Senior gift – a new memorial garden.

Please stay tuned to Valley’s Facebook page (https://www.facebook.com/ValleyLutheranSaginaw/) for photos from Sunday’s special festivities.

Valley Lutheran Class of 2020, may you now go out into the world, prepared and equipped, and rooted in Jesus as the way. “Whether you turn to the right or to the left, your ears will hear a voice behind you, saying, ‘This is the way; walk in it.’” Isaiah 30:21.

Class of 2020 Student Awards

VALEDICTORIAN – Abigail Brown, Cora Hensler, Lillian Holman
SALUTATORIAN – Kelsey Vittitow
HONORS DIPLOMAS – Allyson Ehlert, Tessa Keysor, Matthew Lemanski, Megan Mattichak, Kylie Schmitt, A’Nia Stauffer, Kelsey Vittitow, & Katie Wilson

Jerry Boehm Scholarship – Cassandra Ross
Clarence and Helen Hackman Scholarship – Lydia Schultz
Arthur and Clara Mertz Scholarship – Abigail Hambaum
Carol Moulton Nursing Scholarship – Skylar Hutchison and Kelsey Vittitow
Patricia Rennert Scholarship – Karsin Cloeter
James and Mollie Wheatley Scholarship – Lydia Schultz

Art – Martina Darling & Madison Zolton
English – Cora Hensler & Megan Mattichak
French – Lydia Schultz
Math – Cora Hensler & Hannah Reaman
Music – Abigail Brown & Katie Wilson
Physical Education – Caleb Block & Jeremy Britton
Religion – Lydia Schultz
Science – Lillian Holman & Sarah Roberts
Social Studies – Megan Mattichak
Spanish – Jordan Brechtelsbauer & Lillian Holman

Class Officers – Kylie Schmidt (P), Summer Little (VP), Alannah Stahl (S), Michelle Becker (T)
Music – Silas Kaul & Caleb Krueger
Student Council Executive Board– Katie Wilson (P), Lillian Holman (VP), Caytie Miller (S), Silas Kaul (SM)
Drama – Silas Kaul & Caleb Krueger
Yearbook – Sarah Roberts

Bev Feldkamp Pro Merito Award: Lydia Schultz & A’Nia Stauffer
Tom Roekle Scholar-Athlete Award: Lillian Holman & Keegan Hook
Steve Zill Christian Service Award: Abigail Brown
Tri-Valley All-Academic Team: Allyson Ehlert, Lillian Holman, & Matthew Lemanski
Key Club International: Abigail Brown, Allyson Ehlert, Keegan Hook, Parker Lyday, Garrett Malmo, & Megan Mattichak
Career & Technical Education Program Completion: Kyle Brush, Tessa Keysor, August Krueger, Robert Mueller, Tyler O’Laughlin, & Faith Peplinski
DAR Good Citizen Award: Silas Kaul
Saginaw Rotary Club: Abigail Brown
Michigan Seal of Biliteracy Achievers: Lillian Holman, Garrett Malmo, & Megan Mattichak

Michigan Competitive Scholarship (SAT of 1200 or higher): Eliana Behnke, Caleb Block, Jordan Brechtelsbauer, Abigail Brown, Karsin Cloeter, Martina Darling, Allyson Ehlert, Alexander Friebe, Cora Hensler, Lillian Holman, Keegan Hook, Silas Kaul, Parker Krause, Matthew Lemanski, Garrett Malmo, Megan Mattichak, Hannah Reamn, Charlie Shaw, Evan Starke, Katie Wilson

President’s Award for Educational Excellence (3.5 GPA & above): Michelle Becker, Eliana Behnke, Caleb Block, Jordan Brechtelsbauer, Abigail Brown, Karsin Cloeter, Martina Darling, Allyson Ehlert, Abigail Hambaum, Jacob Hecht, Cora Hensler, Lillian Holman, Keegan Hook, Silas Kaul Tessa Keysor, Nicholas Klein, Parker Krause, Katelyn Krueger, Matthew Lemanski, Abby Lentner, Garrett Malmo, Megan Mattichak, Faith Peplinski, Hannah Reaman, Sarah Roberts, Cassandra Ross, Kylie Schmitt, Lydia Schultz, Rachel Songer-Langschwager, A’Nia Stauffer, Kelsey Vittitow, Abigail Walk, Katie Wilson, Meredith Zinz

President’s Award for Educational Achievement: Gavin Pahlkotter, Kaleb Rankin, Evan Starke, Victoria Vial, & Madison Zolton

National Merit Scholarship Program Commended Student: Lillian Holman